terrible cw shoes & camaraderie

I don’t know if I’ve mentioned this before, but I’m really into The Vampire Diaries and The Originals. (The Originals is a spin-off of TVD, and quite frankly I’m 95% sure I willed it into being.) And yes, I’m aware of all the stigma that comes with being a teenage girl with a love of all things supernatural – although I’m not sure if it’s undeserved, considering how absolutely atrocious TVD’s writing is. Trust me, no one is more ashamed and embarrassed than I am. No one prays more fervently for the show to be canceled already, for Christ’s sake, because Paul Wesley and Ian Somerhalder can only play 17 year old / young 20’s immortal, morally gray vampires with washboard abs for so long.

I could make a list that’s longer than the Eastern seaboard about all the flaws and errors and horrific moments of script-writing that occur on TVD, but at the end of the day, I’m still there every Thursday at 8PM glued to my TV, sighing at Stefan’s face and internally screaming at every one of Elena’s (numerous) blunders. I could not give a…well, you know, about the love triangle that has literally been panning out for 5+ years in the making – nothing against love triangles in particular, aside from the fact that more often than not they’re abused and drawn out and terribly cliche, especially in the CW’s case – rather, I stay for the friendships.

Like I said, TVD’s love triangle has been dragging on for about 5 years now. But at the same time, so have the friendships. Even then, however, are those handled flawlessly? Not always. But even still, there are moments of perfect brother / sisterhood that make me remember why I love the show so much and stay in the first place. Any show with a good group dynamic and friendship (especially if it’s comprised of individualistic, physically / mentally / emotionally strong females) is enough to draw me in. It’s that sense of camaraderie; the sense of genuine love between a group of friends that doesn’t necessarily have to be romantic in nature to be categorized as love.You could even describe, in friendships like in TVD’s and, say, Pretty Little Liars’s, the dynamic as l’esprit de corps – after all, they’ve all been through hell and back, and have changed because of their experiences. I think there are few things better on TV than friends who don’t just ignore or marginalize their friends’ problems, but rather help them confront them or are just there for support in general.

Who needs love triangle debacles when you’ve got friendship like that?

Leave a Reply

